History of Departement

The History of Electrical Engineering Automation Department cannot be separated from the History of the Faculty of Non Degree Technology (FNGT)

The faculty began with a Minister of Education Decree in 1974 that all academies must be merged / affiliated with Local State Universities. With this provision, ITS accepted the National Technical Academy (ATN) in Surabaya under the name ITS Technical Expert Education (PAT).

Based on the Minister of Education and Culture Decree No: 012 / U / 1979, the Rector of ITS issued Rector Decree No.2032 / Um.8-ITS / 80, concerning Academic Regulations, namely: PAT was changed to Education Diploma III, with a study load of 96 credits to 110 credits.

In 1983, the four Diploma III majors from the four faculties at ITS were merged into: the Non-Degree Faculty of Technology (FNGT). Until the academic year 1989/1990, this faculty had 7 Diploma III programs, namely:

1. Department of Civil Engineering

2. Department of Mechanical Engineering

3. Department of Electrical Engineering

4.  Department of Shipping Engineering

5. Chemical Engineering Study Program

6. Polytechnic of Shipping

7. Polytechnic of Electronics and Telecommunications

In 1991, in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia No. 0312/0/1991 concerning the Closing and Integration of Non-Degree Faculties within the University and Institute which was established on 6 June 1991, FNGT ITS was closed. Following up on this, the Diploma in Electrical Engineering was integrated into the ITS Faculty of Industrial Technology (FTI). The implementation of the Electrical Engineering Diploma study program began in July 1991 with an operational permit No. 2020 / D / T / K-N / 2010 dated April 26, 2010. The study program hereinafter referred to as the Computer Control Electrical Engineering Diploma, is a diploma study program that is part of the ITS Undergraduate Electrical Engineering Study Program under FTI ITS.

In 2017, there was a faculty restructuring based on ITS Rector’s Regulation No. 10 of 2016 concerning the Organization and Administration of the Ten November Institute of Technology to form the Faculty of Vocational (FV). FV, which began operations on January 26, 2017, coordinates and manages all vocational study programs within the ITS environment, including Computer Control Electrical Engineering, in order to develop in accordance with the specific characteristics of vocations. In the same year,

based on Kepmenristek No. 257 of 2017 Regarding the Name of Study Programs in Higher Education, Diploma III Study Program in Electrical Computer Control Engineering was changed to Diploma III Study Program in Automation Technology under the Department of Electrical Engineering Automation, FV-ITS.

Along with the development of science and technology in the Industrial Revolution 4.0 era, there is Presidential Instruction No. 9 of 2016 concerning Revitalization of Vocational High Schools (SMK) and Diploma to meet the needs of improving the quality and competitiveness of Indonesian human resources. Supported by Permenristekdikti No. 54 of 2018 Article 7 Paragraph 1 which states that universities implementing Diploma III programs can propose changes in Diploma III to Diploma IV to improve graduate competencies, in 2019 a proposed Bachelor of Applied Engineering Automation Technology Study Program (PSSTr-TRO) is proposed. PSSTr-TRO was officially opened to be through ITS Chancellor’s Decree No. 1168 / IT2 / HK.00.01 / 2019 concerning the Opening of an Undergraduate Study Program in Applied Automation Engineering Technology.

Home > About Us > History