(ASEAN-China Network for Cooperation and Exchanges among Engineering and Technology Universities)

Brief overview

ACNET-EngTech is a collaboration of universities in ASEAN and nine engineering universities in China. Mahidol University is the permanent coordinator in ASEAN, while Tianjin University is the permanent coordinator for China. Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (ITS) is one of the participating ASEAN university in the 2014 joint declaration of the formation of ACNET-EngTech. Within the ACNET-EngTech collaboration framework, ITS had been involved in student and staff mobility as well as the Smart Ocean Initiative.


Chinese Universities ASEAN Universities
•         Beijing Institute of Technology •         Svay Rieng University, Cambodia
•         Chongqing University •         Mean Chey University, Cambodia
•         Dalian University of Technology •         Asian Institute of Cambodia
•         Southeast University •         Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember, Indonesia
•         Harbin Institute of Technology •         Savannakhet University, Lao PDR
•         South China University of Technology •         Champasack University, Lao PDR
•         Tianjin University •         Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
•         Tongji University •         Mahidol University, Thailand
•         Northwestern Polytechnical University •         Universiti Malaya, Malaysia

ITS activities highlights


  • ITS joined ACNET-EngTech since its formation in 2014.


  • BIT sent students to CommTECH, ITS Student participated in summer program in TJU


  • Nov 27 – 28, 2017: ITS became host of the 3rd ACNET-EngTech Presidential Forum
  • Nov 21 – 29, 2017: CommTECH Integrated Initiative 2017


  • April 15 – 23, 2018: 30 ITS Students participated in summer program hosted by DUT
  • July 29 – Aug 18, 2018: BIT and TJU sent students participating in CommTECH Camp at ITS
  • July 25 – 28, 2018: 4 ITS mangement and faculty members participate the China-ASEAN Symposium on Capacity Building and Research Collaboration in Guiyang
  • Sep 1 – 31, 2018: 4 administrators of ITS participate in the Job Shadowing Felowship Program
  • Sep – Dec, 2018: 3 faculty members participate in the Job Shadowing Felowship Program at Faculty of Marine, TJU
  • Oct 18, 2018: The 1st China-ASEAN Beidou Development & Application in Marine Academic Conference
  • Nov 15-20, 2018: CommTECH Integrated Initiative 2018
  • Dec 1 – 10, 2018: short program namely CommTECH Nusantara with DUT and DMU


  • Jun 15 – Sep 15, 2019: ITS students participated in the Smart Ocean Innovation Course at TJU
  • Oct 17 – 18 Oct, 2019: 2 ITS Lecturers participated in the 1st China-ASEAN Beidou Development and Application in Marine Academic Conference hosted by School of Marine Science and Technology, TJU
  • Oct 26 – Dec 15, 2019: 1 ITS Faculty Member participated in the Job Shadowing Program in TJU
  • Dec 9 – 10, 2019: 1 ITS Lecturer participated in the 2nd Conference of China-ASEAN Smart Ocean Academic Committee in TJU
  • Dec 10 – 12, 2019: ITS Participated in the 5th ACNET-EngTech General Assembly


  • Student mobility, Capacity building & faculty exchange (China-ASEAN Scholar Program, Talented Young Scientist Program, Research collaboration, Symposiums (Artificial Intelligence, China ASEAN Beidou Development and Applications in Marine Sciences)

Potential activities

  • Apart from ITS CommTech Mobility for ACNET-EngTech members, ITS is currently focusing on Smart Ocean program, in collaboration with Tianjin University, under the ACNET-EngTech consortium.
ITS hosts the 3rd ACNET-EngTech Presidential Forum




Youth Artwork Competition in Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of ASEAN-China Dialogue Relations