Thu, 26 Jan 2012
3:16 pm

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

Share :
Oleh : itsdhi   |

Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember, commonly abbreviated as ITS, was founded as the yield of the conference of Indonesian Engineering Council in 1954 in Bogor. The idea was further developed when the Council held the first five-year anniversary in Surabaya in 1957. Then, the East Java Branch of the Council decided to establish a Foundation of Technical School or University on the 17th August chaired by dr. Angka Nitisastro.

On the 17th August 1957, the Foundation officiated the Technical School of Sepuluh Nopember Surabaya. The school was officially inaugurated by President Soekarno, the first President of Indonesia, and had two departments, i.e., civil and mechanical engineering. The status of the Technical School was later altered to a state technical school in Surabaya under Government Regulation No. 9/1961 dated 23rd March 1961 which stated the birth of the Institute on 10th November 1960.

At present ITS manages five faculties, namely, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Faculty of Industrial Technology, Faculty of Civil Engineering and Planning, Faculty of Marine Technology and Faculty of Information Technology.

ITS is currently taking serious steps to become a university with international accreditation. It has the objective of preparing to be in the 100 Asian’s best universities or in the 500 World’s best universities. The institution is currently adopting a new paradigm by executing sequential acceleration to realize an economic development university (EDU), whilst at the same time, strengthening the foundation of reputable teaching and research university.



Latest News

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.